This is a poem I wrote in 2013. I think this is the first poem I ever wrote. I remember it was for a class I was taking at the time called “The Writer’s Craft”. I started writing it about 30 minutes before it was due. Special shoutout to my friend Shadi who helped me out with the final line.

Homeless

They say home is where the heart is but I can’t quite find either

Because it’s simpler back then, way back when

Your friends are just play things

Taking part in your imaginary invasions

So maybe home is where I made my first real friend

The first one I could really call “hermano”

And really I

Should have kept in touch but

I let our friendship go and moved on with my life

Maybe home is where I first fell in love

But with what?

What do I know about love?

Convincing myself anything I ever felt was merely platonic

Maybe 10 years from now I’ll look back on it

And realize it was more than that

Will that retrospective regret help me find home?

But maybe home is just wherever I am

Because wherever I am, I find something

Or someone

Or someplace

That replaces my longing for my previous home

So that’s what I’ll be, until the end of me

A homeless man

With many homes

